WCW / WWE Cruiserweight Championship - Title History

On this page, you find the full Title History for the WCW / WWE Cruiserweight Championship, with all Championship Info, Statistics, the Belt Design changes through the years, and the full list of Title Reigns, along with dates, events, and reign durations.

The WCW / WWE Cruiserweight Championship was contested in World Wrestling Entertainment and World Championship Wrestling, by men wrestlers.

The championship was first established on March 20, 1996, and the inaugural champion was Shinjiro Otani.

This is a newer version of the WWF Light Heavyweight Championship and WCW Light Heavyweight Championship, with its own distinct lineage.

The title was contested by wrestlers 220 lbs (100 kg) and under, billed as cruiserweights.

The championship was created in WCW in 1996. However, following WCW's purchase, the WWF/E considered the title lineage to be a continuation of the earlier WCW Light Heavyweight Championship, which had been created in 1991 with Brian Pillman as the inaugural champion.

The WCW / WWE Cruiserweight Championship was retired on September 28, 2007, with the final champion being Hornswoggle.

A similar championship, the WWE / NXT Cruiserweight Championship, has been later introduced, which does not share the lineage with this title.

WCW / WWE Cruiserweight Championship: Title History

  • Promotions / Brands
    Promotion World Wrestling EntertainmentWWEBrand SmackDown March 20, 2002 September 28, 2007
    Promotion World Wrestling EntertainmentWWF March 27, 2001 March 19, 2002
    Promotion World Championship WrestlingWCW March 20, 1996 March 26, 2001
  • Championship Names & Belt Designs
    • WWE Cruiserweight Championship May 6, 2002 September 28, 2007
    • WWF Cruiserweight Championship November 18, 2001 May 5, 2002
    • WCW Cruiserweight Championship March 20, 1996 November 17, 2001

For the Title History of the newer version of this championship, see the page for the WWE / NXT Cruiserweight Championship.

WCW / WWE Cruiserweight Championship: Title Reigns

For the Title History of the previous version of this championship, see the page for the WCW Light Heavyweight Championship and WWF Light Heavyweight Championship.

WCW / WWE Cruiserweight Championship: Statistics

Most Number of Reigns


Most Combined Days


Longest Reigns

You must login to post a comment.
characters left.
Log in with
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.
Work With Us - Join The Team!

We're looking for new staff members with passion for Wrestling and WWE games, and willingness to contribute in any of the website areas. If you're interested, feel free to contact us!