IWGP Tag Team Championship - Title History
Mikey NichollsShane Haste

On this page, you find the full Title History for the IWGP Tag Team Championship, with all Championship Info, Statistics, the Belt Design changes through the years, and the full list of Title Reigns, along with dates, events, and reign durations.

The IWGP Tag Team Championship is contested in New Japan Pro Wrestling on the Heavyweight brand, by men wrestlers.

The championship was first established on December 12, 1985, and the inaugural champions were Kengo Kimura & Tatsumi Fujinami.

This is a newer version of the Asia Tag Team Championship, with its own distinct lineage.

The current champions are the team of TMDK (Mikey Nicholls and Shane Haste), who won the title at NJPW Dominion 6.9 in Osaka-jo Hall (2024) - Best of the Super Jr. 31 Finals on June 9, 2024, and have been reigning for 11 days (This was a 4-Way Winners Take All Match also disputed for the Strong Openweight Tag Team Championship; TMDK won both titles.).

IWGP Tag Team Championship: Title History

  • Promotions / Brands
    Promotion New Japan Pro WrestlingNJPWBrand Heavyweight December 12, 1985 Present
  • Championship Names & Belt Designs
    • IWGP Tag Team Championship January 4, 2013
    • IWGP Tag Team Championship January 4, 1998 January 3, 2013
    • IWGP Tag Team Championship December 12, 1985 January 3, 1998

IWGP Tag Team Championship: Title Reigns

For the Title History of the previous version of this championship, see the page for the Asia Tag Team Championship.

IWGP Tag Team Championship: Statistics

Longest Reigns

& 564
& 446
& 430
& 365
& 343
You must login to post a comment.
characters left.
Log in with
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.
Work With Us - Join The Team!

We're looking for new staff members with passion for Wrestling and WWE games, and willingness to contribute in any of the website areas. If you're interested, feel free to contact us!